It was announced at the 2017 Bord Gais Energy Irish Book Awards, on 28th November last, that the Listowel Writers’ Week “Irish Poem of the Year” is “Seven Sugar Cubes” by Clodagh Beresford Dunne. The poem, decided upon by a combination of public and academic vote, was chosen from a shortlist of four, which included poems by John McAuliffe, Amanda Bell and Tara Bergin. The Book Awards, now in their 12th year, were founded to celebrate and promote Irish writing, to the widest range of readers possible. The Awards ceremony, in Dublin’s Burlington Road Clayton Hotel, also celebrated the work of poet, Eavan Boland, by honouring her with the Bob Hughes Lifetime Achievement Award, and its 2017 International Recognition Award went to children’s author, David Walliams. Highlights of the Awards are available on RTE Player or visit